A- A A+


Advisory Board

Cambridge Governance Labs is privileged to be able to draw upon the expertise and advice of significant thought leaders in the realm of good governance.


Professor James Crawford, AC SC FBA

James Crawford is Whewell Professor of International Law, University of Cambridge. He is a Fellow of Jesus College Cambridge and was Director of the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law (1995-2010). As a member of the UN International Law Commission from 1992 to 2001 he was responsible for the ILC’s early work on the International Criminal Court in 1994 and then served as Special Rapporteur on State Responsibility from 1997 to 2001.

In addition to extensive scholarly work on statehood and international responsibility, he has appeared frequently before the International Court of Justice and other international tribunals, and is actively engaged as an international arbitrator.  In 2014 James was elected to the International Court of Justice.  His work on statehood, humanitarian law and legal effects of non-compliance with international obligations provides important insights into the influence exerted by the international community on decision-making by State organs.

Lord Michael Hastings CBE

Michael Hastings is KPMG International’s Global Head of Corporate Citizenship, a Vice President of UNICEF, a Trustee of the Vodafone Group Foundation and President of development aid agency ZANE. He was previously the BBC’s Head of Public Affairs and also a non-executive Director of British Telecom.

Michael has served on several World Economic Forum’s Global Councils including the Next Generation and the Role of Business.  He served on the Commission for Racial Equality for nine years and sits on the Council of the Overseas Development Institute in the UK.  He was a leading advisor to a recent Chatham House enquiry into the Future Role of the UK in Foreign Affairs.

In 2002 Michael was awarded a CBE in recognition of his services to crime reduction, including 15 years as Chairman of Crime Concern. He was awarded a peerage in 2005 and in the same year received the UNICEF award for his ‘outstanding contribution to understanding and effecting solutions for Africa’s children’.

Andrew Hind, CB

Andrew Hind was the first Chief Executive of the Charity Commission from 2004 until September 2010, during which time he helped to transform the regulatory framework for charities in the UK and internationally.  He is Editor of Charity Finance magazine and Visiting Professor of Charity Governance and Finance at Cass Business School, City University, London.
Andrew is a Trustee of The Baring Foundation and serves on a number of boards including the Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care, the NCVO Advisory Council and is a Non-Executive Director at the Office of the Information Commissioner. 
The author of The Governance and Management of Charities, Andrew has extensive experience of working with the NGO sector. Formerly a senior executive with ActionAid and Barnardo’s, and chief operating officer of BBC World Service, he received the Outstanding Achievement Award for longstanding commitment and service to the voluntary sector at the UK Charity Awards in 2008.

Rowena Ironside

Rowena is a founder and Chair of Women on Boards UK, supporting women to leverage their professional skills and experience into non-executive director and other board level roles.  She is also a Non-Executive Director of the Digital Catapult and has recently served as a City Fellow of Hughes Hall, University of Cambridge.

Rowena spent 25 years in the ICT industry, writing software in Australia; building and selling an IT services business in London and finally running several multi-national software and hosting businesses.

Since completing the Sloan Masters at London Business School in 2002, Rowena has focused on board and advisory roles. Her governance experience includes six years in the not-for-profit sector and Chair and five years as Non-Executive Director in the services sector.  Rowena also brings broad strategic expertise and global operations experience in the digital sector, along with a passion for entrepreneurship and innovation and experience as an angel investor and in microfinance in Africa.


Professor Myles Wickstead, CBE

Myles Wickstead is an expert on international development and Africa. In 2004/2005, he was Head of Secretariat to the Commission for Africa.  From 2000-2004 he was British Ambassador to Ethiopia and Djibouti, and before that he represented the UK on the Board of the World Bank.  He coordinated the 1997 Government White Paper 'Eliminating World Poverty: A Challenge for the 21st Century', and from 1993 to 1997 he was the Head of the British Development Division in Eastern Africa.

Myles is now Visiting Professor (International Relations) at the Open University and holds a number of Board and Senior Advisory positions in the international development and foreign affairs sectors.  He chairs the Board of One World Media, and is on the Boards of the Baring Foundation and International Inspiration, and the Advisory Council of Wilton Park.


Professor John Wood CBE, FREng

John Wood is the Secretary General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities. He has doctorates from Cambridge and Sheffield Universities and has held academic posts at several leading universities including Nottingham (Dean of Engineering), The Open University,  and Imperial College London (Principal of the Faculty of Engineering, Senior International Adviser), where he is currently visiting professor and is an honorary professor of nanotechnology at UCL. He was chief executive of the Research Council responsible for large and international science facilities.
He is chair of Research Information Network, INASP and was formerly on the advisory board of the British Library and on the board of the Joint Information Services Committee.  A founder member of the European Strategy Forum for Research Infrastructures, he became chair in 2004. He became the first chair of the European Research Area Board in 2008, responsible for high level advice to the European Commission. He subsequently became chair of the European Research Area Board and represents Europe on the Global Research Data Alliance as co-chair.
John was elected as a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1999 and was made a Commander of the British Empire in 2007 for ‘services to science’. He was made an officer of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for bringing the international negotiations for the European X-ray Free Electron Laser to fruition.



Share this page:
FaceBook  Twitter